Spedden, a seventh-grade math teacher at Everett Meredith Middle School, will now represent the district at the Delaware Teacher of the Year awards in October.

Everett Meredith Middle School math teacher Lisa Spedden was counting her blessings after being selected the Appoquinimink School District Teacher of the Year Wednesday night.

At the awards banquet at the Marion Proffitt Training Center in Odessa, Spedden was announced as the winner from among the 14 Teachers of the Year from each district school.

“I am beyond humbled and honored to represent not only the Appoquinimink School District, but more importantly, Meredith Middle School,” said Spedden in an interview after the ceremony. “Being selected District Teacher of the Year means more than I can put in to words. While I have been given this honor, I believe that it shows what a great building Meredith is, and the support I have been given from the Meredith family.”

Spedden said reaction from the community has been overwhelming.

“I never knew I could receive so many emails in any given day! I have had current and past parents of students, and staff members from around the district contact me with warm wishes,” she said.

One of those emails was from a parent of a former student. The parent said after Spedden showed her son the “fun in math,” he progressed and excelled so much that Spedden allowed him to help other children in need with math which in turn, helped him with his behavior. Now, that student is attending William & Mary College on a full scholarship, and his parent said math is still his favorite subject.

Spedden said messages like that bring a tear to her eye.

The seventh-grade math teacher is in her 11th year in the district, all at Meredith Middle School, where she also serves a Math League coach, a grade seven lead teacher, and on the school leadership committee. She’s been teaching for a total of 15 years.

She earned her bachelor’s degree in elementary education from Judson University in Elgin, Illinois, and her master’s degree in teaching and leadership from Xavier University in Chicago.

She and her husband have two children, and they live in Clayton.

The process of choosing a new Teacher of the Year began in January when nominations were solicited from school staff, students, parents and community members.

This year, 238 of the district’s nearly 600 teachers received nominations.

Qualified nominees interested in pursuing the honor were required to submit a resume, three reference letters and an essay on their teaching philosophy before undergoing interviews with a selection committee at their own school.

From that pool, a teacher of the year was named at each of the district’s school last month.

Here are the Teachers of the Year from each school:

Appoquinimink High School – Ryan Moseley,

Middletown High School – Jeff Billings,

Alfred G. Waters Middle School – Rebekah Mazer,

Everett Meredith Middle School – Lisa Spedden,

Louis L. Redding Middle School – Toni Hvizdzak,

Brick Mill Elementary School – Annie Rosenthal,

Bunker Hill Elementary School – Joanne Willits,

Cedar Lane Elementary School – Wayne Wyatt,

Olive B. Loss Elementary School – Lisa Pragg,

Old State Elementary School – Dana Patton,

Silver Lake Elementary School – Cathy Guza,

Cedar Lane Early Childhood Center – Tanya Belitskus,

Spring Meadow Early Childhood Center – Tracy Calhoun,

Townsend Early Childhood Center – Daryl Zarzycki.

Now Spedden will represent the district at the Delaware Teacher of the Year ceremony in October.