The DIAA (Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association) recently named their 2014-2015 school-year winners of the Champions in Sportsmanship Award.


For the past 19 years, the DIAA has given the award to showcase schools that excel in sportsmanship. Appoquinimink High School was once again named to the list, joining several other schools who’ve won the award multiple times, this year’s award marks the fifth time Appo has made the list.  


This year, 17 schools in the state earned the award, 16 that have now received the award multiple times. Overall, 29 different schools have received the award since the program began.


“All of these schools are led by energetic and innovative committees that continually look for new ways to spread the message of sportsmanship,” said DIAA Executive Director Kevin Charles in a press release. “They truly embody the philosophy that sportsmanship is not just something you talk about but a way of life demonstrated by your behavior and actions. This belief is an essential component of education based athletics.”


Unlike the competitions on the field or on the court, schools are not graded head-to-head when it comes to the sportsmanship honor. Rather, schools  are graded on a set of 10 standards and must submit an extensive application book which they fill out throughout the school year. At the end of the year each application book is then judged by the Sportsmanship Committee.


Other winners included Tatnall, Glasgow, Sussex Central, Charter School of Wilmington, Saint Mark’s, Smyrna, Sanford, Conrad School of Science, McKean, Caravel Academy, A.I. duPont, Sussex Tech, Concord, Tower Hill, and William Penn, and Woodbridge Middle School.