John Carney moves into the governor's seat, Blunt Rochester sworn into Congress


John C. Carney Jr. (D)

Carney graduated from St. Mark’s High School and received his bachelor’s degree from Dartmouth College and master’s in public administration from the University of Delaware.

He was lieutenant governor from 2001 to 2008 and Representative in Congress beginning in 2011.

A member of Delaware’s Cancer Consortium, he was involved in raising money for the St. Patrick’s Day Society, which supports the St. Patrick’s Center, a low-income community center in Wilmington. Before becoming a member of Congress, he was a board member at the YMCA, and coached numerous youth basketball leagues across the city of Wilmington.

Lieutenant Governor

Bethany Hall-Long (D)

Hall-Long is a certified registered nurse with more than 30 years of experience and a nursing professor at the University of Delaware. She holds a doctorate in nursing and is a Fellow of the American Academy of Nursing.

She spent 14 years in the General Assembly, six as a representative and eight in the senate. She was chairwoman of the Senate Health and Social Services Committee and the Senate Community and County Affairs Committee. She chaired task forces examining Delaware’s addiction epidemic, chronic disease care and cancer rates.

She is a board member of the Delaware YMCA, and is involved with the Delaware Cancer Consortium and the Healthy Infants and Mothers Consortium.

U.S. Representative

Lisa Blunt Rochester (D)

Blunt Rochester began her career as a caseworker for Congressman Tom Carper, helping people with Social Security benefits, disability insurance claims, IRS disputes and housing needs.

She was Delaware’s first African American woman Secretary of Labor, first African American Deputy Secretary of Health and Social Services and State Personnel Director.

She was the CEO of the Metropolitan Wilmington Urban League, a public policy research think-tank focused on the inclusion of people of color.

She grew up in Wilmington, graduated from Padua Academy, and majored in International Relations as a Fairleigh Dickinson University undergraduate. She later earned a master’s in Urban Affairs and Public Policy from the University of Delaware.

Insurance Commissioner

Trinidad Navarro (D)

Navarro has been New Castle County sheriff since 2011. He was a New Castle County police officer from 1991 until 2011 and an insurance agent with the American General Insurance Company from 1990 to 1991.

He holds an associate degree in criminal justice from Delaware Technical Community College, a bachelor’s in Criminal Justice from Wilmington University and has completed graduate classes for a master’s degree in Administration of Justice.

He was cochair of the Colonial Educational Foundation, and a board member for the Canal Little League, Police Athletic League and Healing with Horses.

Navarro is a member or the Fraternal Order of Police, the Knights of Columbus and an usher at St. Margaret of Scotland Catholic Church and was a Little League softball coach.

Kent County Clerk of the Peace

Brenda Wooten (D)

Brenda Wootten

Wootten succeeds her mother, Loretta Wootten, as the Kent County Clerk of the Peace.

She holds a bachelor’s in paralegal studies from Wesley College and has worked 27 years as a judicial case manager in the Delaware Court of Chancery. Her career included two years at the Delaware Hospital for the Chronically Ill, two years working for the Commissioner of Elections and nine years with Justice of the Peace Court No. 7.

House of Representatives, District 33

Charles S. Postles Jr. (R)

Postles won the 33rd District race to succeed the late Harold J. “Jack” Peterman.

Born and raised in Milford, he holds a bachelor’s degree in agriculture from the University of Delaware and has been a poultry and crop farmer for more than 40 years. He has worked as a field manager for Draper King Cole and as a loan officer.

He is a former member and president of the Milford School Board, a former member of the Delmarva Poultry Industry Board of Directors, former national officer of the FFA, former member of the Governor’s Council of Agriculture and former chairman of the Grower Committee for the Delmarva Poultry Association.

Currently he is a member of the Chamber of Commerce of Greater Milford, the Cedarfield Ruritan, the Delaware Agricultural Museum and Village, the Delaware Poultry Industry, the Farm Bureau, the Kent County Board of Directors for the Farm Bureau, the Milford FFA Alumni Association, the Perdue Grower Advisory Committee and the New Covenant Presbyterian Church.