Twenty Delaware teachers are finalists to be named Delaware’s 2018 Teacher of the Year.

Selected from among the 9,000 public school teachers in the state, the candidates were nominated by their districts or the Delaware Charter School Network because of their ability to inspire students with a love of learning, demonstration of professional traits and devotion to teaching.

Already leaders among the colleagues in their buildings, each now has assumed a role representing educators in their districts or the charter network. In October, one will take over the state title from 2017 Delaware Teacher of the Year Wendy Turner, a Mount Pleasant Elementary School teacher in the Brandywine School District.

The 2018 District/Charter Teachers of the Year are Cheryl Vest, Middletown High School; Leona Williams, Forwood Elementary School; Kyle Hill, Star Hill Elementary School; Corbin Bean, Mariner Middle School; Alexis Huttie, South Dover Elementary School; Casey Montigney, Shue-Medill Middle School; Lakeya Nova, Eisenberg Elementary School; Carol Kline, Delmar HIgh School; Lisa Richardson, Millsboro Middle School; Sarah O’Toole, Lake Forest North Elementary School; Jennifer Teagle, Laurel High School; Michele Davis, Ross Elementary School; Lindsay Tietze, Howard High School of Technology; Judy Campo-Sobota, POLYTECH High School; Tory Curtis, William F. Cooke Elementary School; Kimberly Marquis, Blades Elementary School; Denise Boyles, Smyrna Middle School; Virginia Forcucci, Sussex Technical High School; Jolene Workman, Woodbridge High School; and Kelly Krajewski, Odyssey Charter School.