The New Castle County Police Department recognized 14 officers during a promotional ceremony held Aug. 21 at the University Of Delaware’s John M. Clayton Hall.

Officers recognized were Lt. Col. Quinton L. Watson, Maj. Robert A. McLucas, Capt. Joseph S. Bloch, Capt. Diane R. Smith, Lt. Brian N. Faulkner, Lt. Allen G. Herring, Lt. Gustavo A. Zeissig, Sgt. James D. Allison IV, Sgt. Brian M. Cote, Sgt. Peter J. Stewart III, Sgt. Kevin P. Donohue Jr., Sgt. Hector L. Garcia Jr., Sgt. Jennifer L. Bunora and Sgt. John-Paul D. Piser.

“In today’s world of policing, it is imperative that supervision is available to oversee the day to day interactions of our officers,” said Col. Vaughn Bond Jr. “Quality supervision ensures that mishaps are few and quality service is being provided to the community.”

Also in attendance to recognize the officers was the Hon. Matthew Meyer, New Castle County executive.

“Leadership matters,” Meyer said. “I am proud to join in recognizing these men and women of the New Castle County Police who have distinguished themselves by their ability to lead and have earned opportunities to take on new responsibilities in the effort to keep our communities safe.”

The officers celebrated with family, friends and colleagues in the hall after the ceremony.