Sens. Carper and Coons joined over 100 Congress members in calling on the Trump administration to reinstate temporary protected status for hundreds of thousands of immigrants legally living in the U.S.

The letter comes after the State Department released a series of internal documents showing the Trump administration’s overtly political decisions to terminate TPS for El Salvador, Honduras and Haiti despite warnings of consequences for the U.S. national security, TPS beneficiaries and U.S.-citizen children.

“We believe that the warnings that then-Secretary Tillerson ignored — that mass deportations could destabilize the region, trigger a new surge of unauthorized immigration, endanger our U.S. foreign policy goals, risk the safety of TPS beneficiaries and their U.S. citizen children and force the separation of families — require reconsideration,” the members wrote in their letter to Secretary of State Mike Pompeo. “Given the implications…we strongly urge you to reverse your predecessor’s recommendation and conduct a thorough review of the decision-making process that led to it.”

The documents published by the State Department were some of the materials the Senate Foreign Relations Committee reviewed as part of its investigation into then-Secretary Rex Tillerson’s recommendation not to extend TPS for several countries in the Western Hemisphere for political reasons. The Government Accountability Office also opened a review of the Trump administration’s decision to terminate those TPS designations.

Carper and Coons are joined by Sens. Bob Menendez, D-New Jersey; Ben Cardin, D-Maryland; Patrick Leahy, D-Vermont; Ed Markey, D-Massachusetts; Chris Van Hollen, D-Maryland; Michael Bennet, D-Colorado; Catherine Cortez Masto, D-Nevada; Cory Booker, D-New Jersey; Kirsten Gillibrand, D-New York; Patty Murray, D-Washington; Mazie Hirono, D-Hawaii; Jeff Merkley, D-Oregon; and Sherrod Brown, D-Ohio.

The letter was also signed by Reps. Nydia M. Velázquez, D-New York; Theodore E. Deutch, D-Florida; Betty McCollum, D-Minnesota; James P. McGovern, D-Massachusetts; Mike Quigley, D-Illinois; Elijah E. Cummings, D-Maryland; Adriano Espaillat, D-New York; Jan Schakowsky, D-Illinois; Frederica S. Wilson, D-Florida; Sheila Jackson Lee, D-Texas; Alcee L. Hastings, D-Florida; Donald S. Beyer Jr., D-Virginia; Luis V. Gutiérrez, D-Illinois; Lois Frankel, D-Florida; Lucille Roybal-Allard, D-California; William R. Keating, D-Massachusetts; Gregory W. Meeks, D-New York; Jamie Raskin, D-Maryland; Richard M. Nolan, D-Minnesota; David N. Cicilline, D-Rhode Island; Vicente Gonzalez, D-Texas; Joaquin Castro, D-Texas; Marcy Kaptur, D-Ohio; Nanette Diaz Barragán, D-California; David E. Price, D-North Carolina; Alan S. Lowenthal, D-California; John Lewis, D-Georgia; Thomas R. Suozzi, D-New York; Albio Sires, D-New Jersey; Peter T. King, R-New York; Al Lawson Jr., D-Florida; James R. Langevin, D-Rhode Island; Donald M. Payne Jr., D-New Jersey; Seth Moulton, D-Massachusetts; Kathy Castor, D-Florida; Sanford D. Bishop Jr., D-Georgia; Filemon Vela, D-Texas; Gerald E. Connolly, D-Virginia; Eleanor Holmes Norton, D-Washington, D.C.; Gene Green, D-Texas; Dina Titus, D-Nevada; Zoe Lofgren, D-California; Carolyn B. Maloney, D-New York; Yvette D. Clarke, D-New York; Bonnie Watson Coleman, D-New Jersey; Kathleen M. Rice, D-New York; Sander M. Levin, D-Michigan; Adam Smith, D-Washington; Suzanne Bonamici, D-Oregon; Frank Pallone Jr., D-New Jersey; Jimmy Panetta, D-California; Derek Kilmer, D-Washington; Mark DeSaulnier, D-California; Joe Courtney, D-Connecticut; Robin L. Kelly, D-Illinois; Jimmy Gomez, D-California; Ruben J. Kihuen, D-Nevada; Nita M. Lowey, D-New York; Jacky Rosen, D-Nevada; Linda T. Sánchez, D-California; André Carson, D-Indiana; Al Green, D-Texas; Anthony G. Brown, D-Maryland; Anna G. Eschoo, D-California; Pramila Jayapal, D-Washington; Rosa L. DeLauro, D-Connecticut; Karen Bass, D-California; Alma S. Adams, D-North Carolina; Ro Khanna, D-California; José E. Serrano, D-New York; Danny K. Davis, D-Illinois; Steve Cohen, D-Tennessee; Brendan F. Boyle, D-Pennsylvania; Adam B. Schiff, D-California; Colleen Hanabusa, D-Hawaii; Gwen Moore, D-Wisconsin; Beto O’Rourke, D-Texas; Kurt Schrader, D-Oregon; Raúl M. Grijalva, D-Arizona; Peter A. DeFazio, D-Oregon; Joseph Crowley, D-New York; Donald Norcross, D-New Jersey; and Earl Blumenauer, D-Oregon.