The St. Georges Tech wrestling team won the Blue Hen Conference Championship at A.I. duPont High School on Saturday, finishing with 230.5 total points as a team, just ahead of second place Wilmington Charter (222).

The Hawks came away with two weight-class titles from Nick Novarnik and Austin Clayton, along with eight finishes of fourth-place or better.

Novarnik was the winner at 126, reaching the finals against Wilmington Charter’s Jesse Muaka who Novarnik defeated by a 1-0 decision. The other Hawks’ title came at 182 where Clayton earned a technical fall (18-3) decision over William Penn’s Nick Lane in the finals.

John Pantazes (106), Wyatt McMullen (113), Danny Rankin (120) and Hunter Beaudet (152) were runner-up finishers in their respective weight classes for St. Georges Tech.

Meanwhile, Dontae Ferrera (138), Nicholas Atehortua (170) and Jared Pheasant all won third-place matchups and Nate Fulton (160) place fourth for the Hawks.

The Middletown Cavaliers finished in third-place as a team with 190.5 total points paced by four weight class titles.

Hunter Hamill, Will Carl, Dante Immediato and Brian Schneider all came away with first-place finishes for the Cavaliers on Saturday, along with Jaxson Al-Chokhacky who took third-place at 106.

Hamill was the champion at 113, knocking off St. Georges Tech’s McMullen in the finals by a 7-2 decision.

Carl, the winner at 120, defeated another Hawk in Rankin by a 10-9 decision.

Immediato defeated Johnny Garcia of Wilmington Charter by technical fall, 19-5, for the title at 138.

At 152, Schneider defeated Beaudet of St. Georges Tech in the finals by a 7-2 decision.

The Appo Jaguars placed fifth out of 17 school, finishing with 139 total points.

Mathew Blaasch came away with the conference title at 160, knocking off Delcastle’s Jose Escobar in the finals by major decision (16-6).

The Jags had three more finishes of fourth or higher, including NcKyle Green (182) and Chris Saunders (285) with third-place finishes and Jose Hilario (152) who place fourth.

Other weight class winners on Saturday included Liam O’Connor (132, Delcastle), Ryan Juarez-Robertson (145, William Penn), Charter Lamey (170, Wilmington Charter), Messiah El (195, William Penn), Myles Goodson (220, William Penn) and Loma Thomas (285, McKean).


DIAA Individual Wrestling State Championships

Friday, Feb. 25 (Prelims @ 4 p.m.) & Saturday, Feb. 26 (Semifinals @ 10:30 a.m. and Finals @ 7 p.m.) at Dover High School